Beer - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 05-11-2007, 07:53 AM
Beginner
 
sally429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 597
Maybe a dumb question but.....I read that not all beer is vegetarian. What is in it that makes it this way?
sally429 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-11-2007, 08:07 AM
Beginner
 
nidobunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 138
I believe some beers (and some wines and some other liquors) are filtered with animal products---gelatin or isinglass (something from fish). It's not in the final product. I know of some veg*ns who don't consume these products and others are less strict and consume them anyway. If you do a Google search for vegetarian/vegan beers, you should be able to find a list somewhere.
nidobunny is offline  
#3 Old 05-11-2007, 08:10 AM
Beginner
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 18,834
http://www.veggieboards.com/boards/s...highlight=beer



There are a ton of other threads on this topic. Do an advanced search for "beer".
Brandon is offline  
#4 Old 05-11-2007, 10:44 PM
Beginner
 
Noctem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Im to drunk therefore lazy to look it up. However I really really hope Corona is vegetarian friendly cause I had at least 5 is about 2 hours and I dont drink much anymore.
Noctem is offline  
#5 Old 05-11-2007, 10:52 PM
Beginner
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 18,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noctem View Post

Im to drunk therefore lazy to look it up. However I really really hope Corona is vegetarian friendly cause I had at least 5 is about 2 hours and I dont drink much anymore.



Then you either don't care or are not worried about it.
Brandon is offline  
#6 Old 05-12-2007, 12:21 AM
Beginner
 
Delano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noctem View Post

Im to drunk therefore lazy to look it up. However I really really hope Corona is vegetarian friendly cause I had at least 5 is about 2 hours and I dont drink much anymore.



I had a quick jaunt around the net, and it looks like Corona isn't vegan.



They also sponsor bull-fighting too, apparently, so that's something else to think about. :/



Whenever I'm getting drunk, I just stick to Miller's anyway.
Delano is offline  
#7 Old 05-12-2007, 07:36 AM
Beginner
 
down_to_earth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 466
Blech. Guinness isn't vegan. Eh. Warsteiner, theoretically, is at least. I guess it doesn't matter, though, since I'm pregnant. However, O'Doul's is actually pretty good for a fake beer. It reminds me of Bud's Amber Bock. My husband bought me a case of O'Doul's when I was craving beer. I don't think it was pregnancy hormone craving, just an I want what I can't have craving.



My favorite wine is Manechevitz(sp?). It's a Jewish Kosher wine, so I'm betting it's safe.



Thanks for the info,

Laura
down_to_earth is offline  
#8 Old 05-12-2007, 11:27 AM
Beginner
 
Kill Uncle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by down_to_earth View Post

Blech. Guinness isn't vegan. Eh. Warsteiner, theoretically, is at least. I guess it doesn't matter, though, since I'm pregnant. However, O'Doul's is actually pretty good for a fake beer. It reminds me of Bud's Amber Bock. My husband bought me a case of O'Doul's when I was craving beer. I don't think it was pregnancy hormone craving, just an I want what I can't have craving.



My favorite wine is Manechevitz(sp?). It's a Jewish Kosher wine, so I'm betting it's safe.



Thanks for the info,

Laura



Its like liquid candy.



Love it !
Kill Uncle is offline  
#9 Old 05-12-2007, 12:15 PM
Beginner
 
bigdufstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Brandon View Post

http://www.veggieboards.com/boards/s...highlight=beer



There are a ton of other threads on this topic. Do an advanced search for "beer".



Start a new thread, get yelled at for not searching. Search and respond to a thread, get yelled at for raising and old thread from the dead. You can't win.
bigdufstuff is offline  
#10 Old 05-12-2007, 01:06 PM
Beginner
 
starelda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
I love this site http://www.isitvegan.info/



It's an online searchable database of foods that are vegan (also useful for me as an ovo-lacto veggie though!). It's mainly UK products and it doesn't have corona...so it may veggie or may not be.
starelda is offline  
#11 Old 05-13-2007, 05:47 AM
Beginner
 
Loki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,212
I don't bother checking beer for it's vegetarian status. I'll still drink it. I'll still drink guinness.



It's really not something that worries me too much. Besides, if you think of it in terms of appearance, it makes vegetarians look less like the kinds of people who are sacrificing good things and more like sociable people who don't eat meat.
Loki is offline  
#12 Old 05-13-2007, 06:10 AM
Beginner
 
kiz_paws's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdufstuff View Post

Start a new thread, get yelled at for not searching. Search and respond to a thread, get yelled at for raising and old thread from the dead. You can't win.



LoL
kiz_paws is offline  
#13 Old 05-13-2007, 11:45 AM
Beginner
 
troub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdufstuff View Post

Start a new thread, get yelled at for not searching. Search and respond to a thread, get yelled at for raising and old thread from the dead. You can't win.



ahhh tis the theme of every message board
troub is offline  
#14 Old 05-13-2007, 01:45 PM
Beginner
 
gypsysoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 88
I was curious about this also and came across this list and was happy to find that the brand I normally drink...when I do drink.... is suitable!



http://homepage.ntlworld.com/geraint...ian_beers.html
gypsysoul is offline  
#15 Old 05-14-2007, 11:11 AM
Beginner
 
Apathy&Sarcasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 71
Most really good beers are vegetarian.



Seriously though, the non-veg ones are severely outnumbered. Generic macro's like Bud and such are vegan as is Grolsch. Generally the filtration occurs in darker beers. Unfiltered beer (Hefe's) are generally safe as well.



Samuel Smith and Clipper City are veg too, which is good because they are the most wonderful things on Earth.
Apathy&Sarcasm is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off