Cigarettes and Vegetarianism.... - VeggieBoards - A Vegetarian Community
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-27-2006, 07:22 AM
Beginner

Well, I'm a smoker....I've been smoking for 3 years now. I've recently become a vegetarian. I did some research into tobacco companies, and after I run out of my Camel carton, I'm going to switch to American Spirits because they don't test on animals.

Apparently, from this board, I can guess that very few of you are smokers. However, when I worked at NYPIRG (environmental organization) and amongst my friends in school, there's a large percentage of people who eat ethically, yet smoke. My friend smokes and she works for Clean Water Action in Philadelphia, and many of her coworkers smoke too. My friends base is between the age of 19-24 and there's a lot of smokers, and a lot of veg*ns, and quite a bit of overlap.

Of course, I'd like to quit, but I dunno if that's likely, what with (nearly) all my friends smoking. I personally find it a little ironic to see vegetarians smoke, but I think it's a lot easier to quit eating meat and drinking milk due to so many good alternatives than quitting smoking which is more addicting than heroin.

I was wondering if anyone else has noticed this, or if it's just a youth thing?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-27-2006, 07:27 AM
Beginner

Probably a lot of them started while young, as part of the "alternative" crowd- they are the kinds of people who are drawn to trying or just naturally being different, so some of the same factors that led them to smoking as youths also led them to being different as adults.

And BTW American Spirits is just a subsidiary of one of the big nasty tobacco corps. You'd be better off finding a truly independent tobacco grower, probably only available through mail order or smoke shops.
#3 Old 10-27-2006, 07:33 AM
Beginner

I see no reason why a vegetarian can't be a smoker too.

I dislike smoking a lot but that's another story.
#4 Old 10-27-2006, 07:39 AM
Beginner