I ran into the same problem with the gelatin as well.
While checking on that, I found out kosher cheese is not necesarily vegetarian either (certainly not vegam). I thought since the cheese is dairy, kosher cheese would have no animal rennet in it either. However, I checked the Orthodox Union website and they indicated that the amount of animal rennet is so minimal, it is as it didn't exist in it; hence can be considered kosher-dairy. You need to specifically make sure it is rennetless.
I offer this because it sounds like you are going through the same things I have been going through.