Is LIPASE vegetarian? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 10-22-2005, 07:54 PM
Beginner
 
ToPDoGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
ay i just bought Organic Macaroni & Cheese from Whole Foods I'm wondering if lipase is vegetarian. Its in the Parmesan Cheese. Is it similar to rennet cuz i dont eat that.



Thanks 4 ur help.
ToPDoGG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-22-2005, 08:01 PM
Beginner
 
DelicGrape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,155
http://www.umm.edu/altmed/ConsSupplements/Lipasecs.html
DelicGrape is offline  
#3 Old 10-22-2005, 08:03 PM
Beginner
 
ynaffit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,058
lipase can be non-vegetarian. http://www.vrg.org/press/97juningred.htm says that it is typically derived from hogs. i suggest asking the company about their source.
ynaffit is offline  
#4 Old 10-22-2005, 08:04 PM
Administrator
 
Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,871
I did a Google search, looks like it can be either, I'd recommend contacting the company.



ETA: Bah!

Follow me on Twitter - @_jorts
Michael is offline  
#5 Old 10-22-2005, 08:06 PM
Beginner
 
Adagio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Lipase is an enzyme that interacts with lipids (in food, lipids are fats and oils).



They can be synthetic or biological - check with the company which one it uses.
Adagio is offline  
#6 Old 10-22-2005, 08:09 PM
Beginner
 
ToPDoGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
I just send an email to whole foods thanx 4 helping me. ill post the response here later.
ToPDoGG is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off