Burt's Bees - Is It Vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 07-13-2005, 07:41 PM
Beginner

I'm not all out vegan yet, but I'm just curious if Burt's Bees products are considered vegan.

Any help on which makeup/body products are considered animal cruelty free, and vegan both?

Thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-13-2005, 07:42 PM
Beginner

I'm only familiar with the chap stick, but doesn't most of it have beeswax/honey? I thought that was pretty much their sales pitch.
#3 Old 07-13-2005, 07:51 PM
Beginner

I'm not sure. I saw the brand in our local Walgreens and didn't get a chance to look at the ingredients. But duh to me - yes, Burt's Bees might indicate that it has beeswax in it. HELLO! Sorry, I'm new to all of this and still learning.

P.S. Strap a band around my head that says - Dumbass!
#4 Old 07-13-2005, 07:55 PM
Beginner

take it easy on yourself, alright ?
#5 Old 07-13-2005, 07:56 PM
Beginner

Yeah almost all of their products contain beeswax.
#6 Old 07-13-2005, 08:14 PM
Beginner

There are tons and tons of all natural products that don't contain animal products in them. Many linked to on VB! As others have said, don't beat yourself up, you're just learning!

What kinda products are you looking for, dylansmom? Perhaps we can help suggest tried and true alternatives?
#7 Old 07-13-2005, 08:21 PM
Beginner

I guess mainly thinking of makeup. I've used Covergirl stuff a lot up until now, and have some Rimmel eye liner, and various brands of lip liners too. I also have a lot of Avon lipsticks as well.

Does anyone know if any of these brands are cruelty free?

I'm not completely vegan yet, but knowing that I'm using something that hasn't been tested on an animal would make me feel a whole lot better. I'd be a major hypocrite to not eat meat, but still use products that are tested on them!