Rockstar Energy Drink - VeggieBoards - A Vegetarian Community
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 04-03-2005, 12:22 AM
Beginner
 
jeremiah313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 67
does anyone know if rockstar drinks are vegan? they have taurine and i'm not sure if it is synthetic like Red Bull claims or if it is from animals.
jeremiah313 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 04-03-2005, 06:54 AM
Beginner
 
CharityAJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,606
Actually I wondered the same thing. No answer, just another curious mind.



::bump::
CharityAJO is offline  
#3 Old 04-03-2005, 10:57 AM
Beginner
 
Autumn Leaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 974
Here's from their website



Autumn Leaves is offline  
#4 Old 04-03-2005, 03:14 PM
Beginner
 
dee-vee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Who knows where that taurine comes from.
dee-vee is offline  
#5 Old 04-03-2005, 05:22 PM
Beginner
 
CharityAJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,606
Oh bugger, you're all useless. I'll contact the company.
CharityAJO is offline  
#6 Old 04-03-2005, 05:27 PM
Beginner
 
/usr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 422
This doesn't answer your question, but I contacted the company in charge of Monster Energy Drink, and they confirmed that it was vegan.
/usr is offline  
#7 Old 04-04-2005, 01:04 AM
Beginner
 
jeremiah313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by /usr View Post

This doesn't answer your question, but I contacted the company in charge of Monster Energy Drink, and they confirmed that it was vegan.

that is good to know as well. thanks
jeremiah313 is offline  
#8 Old 04-04-2005, 10:11 AM
Beginner
 
Autumn Leaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 974
Charity~ What did they say?
Autumn Leaves is offline  
#9 Old 04-04-2005, 11:40 AM
Beginner
 
4EverGrounded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,644
I don't trust when a company says it's vegan. Companies have been known to call things like gelatin and honey vegan so I'm suspicious of a company saying "it's vegan".
4EverGrounded is offline  
#10 Old 04-04-2005, 08:28 PM
Beginner
 
CharityAJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,606
I didn't just ask "is it vegan?" I don't assume customer service reps know what that means.



I asked if specific amino acids were synthetic or animal derived. And I'm still waiting on the answer.
CharityAJO is offline  
#11 Old 04-04-2005, 08:43 PM
Beginner
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
The artificial flavors are enough to keep me away from this product, vegan or not.
GhostUser is offline  
#12 Old 04-04-2005, 09:10 PM
Beginner
 
CharityAJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalafelsRule View Post

The artificial flavors are enough to keep me away from this product, vegan or not.

Congratulations. You're better than us for maintaining a Sanctified Holy Body of Non-Artificial Wonder.
CharityAJO is offline  
#13 Old 04-04-2005, 10:07 PM
Beginner
 
Scorpius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pluto (the planet)
Posts: 6,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharityAJO View Post

Congratulations. You're better than us for maintaining a Sanctified Holy Body of Non-Artificial Wonder.

Ouch! If anything, I'd applaud his endevous in avoiding the unknown.

I wish I could..."artificial flavours" always give me the willes.....but they make my junk food taste good so..

"you know, nowhere in the bible does it say that jesus was not a raptor"


www.animal-adoptions.org

Scorpius is offline  
#14 Old 04-04-2005, 10:45 PM
Beginner
 
CharityAJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,606
FalafelsRule's countless posts about his dietary purity suggest a skittishness akin to self-satisfied supremacy. The vibe I'm getting is when the Princess won't eat off the plates the servants have touched.



Flame me. Whatever.



I'm sick of people posting useless comments such as these. We come to these boards with questions about the vegan status of foods. And when others comment with "yea but that product contains preservatives/hydrogenated oils/artificial colorings that are bad because x,y,z & I certainly would not be caught dead eating such a thing" it does NOTHING to further the discussion.



It's just off-topic banter about your own personal purity.



We're not here to criticize people for eating junk or convenience foods. We're here to assist each other in the ease of a vegetarian or vegan diet.
CharityAJO is offline  
#15 Old 04-04-2005, 10:46 PM
Beginner
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharityAJO View Post

Congratulations. You're better than us for maintaining a Sanctified Holy Body of Non-Artificial Wonder.



Post of the year.. no decade.
GhostUser is offline  
#16 Old 04-04-2005, 10:54 PM
Beginner
 
Vegankat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyKass View Post

Post of the year.. no decade.



Agreed!
Vegankat is offline  
#17 Old 04-05-2005, 12:20 PM
Beginner
 
CountessKerouac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,058
I agree with Charity, even though I understand that when people feel strongly about certain things, it can be difficult not to say their opinions.



That was too funny though.
CountessKerouac is offline  
#18 Old 04-05-2005, 12:50 PM
Beginner
 
1vegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharityAJO View Post

I didn't just ask "is it vegan?" I don't assume customer service reps know what that means.







They usually don't know.
1vegan is offline  
#19 Old 11-15-2007, 01:07 PM
Beginner
 
reskat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
It looks like no one ever answered the OP's question satisfactorily, so here it is (from http://www.rockstar69.com/productFAQ.php):

Quote:
Rockstar is 100% Vegetarian and Vegan. The Taurine contained in Rockstar is synthetic and not derived from animals.



(Yes, I realize that this thread is 2 years old...)
reskat is offline  
#20 Old 11-15-2007, 03:40 PM
Beginner
 
KellyBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 462
You still shouldn't drink it cause it's full of artificial flavors !

Sorry I couldn't resist!
KellyBon is offline  
#21 Old 11-15-2007, 03:42 PM
Beginner
 
Just_Kris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 541
But it can give you quite the little buzz!
Just_Kris is offline  
#22 Old 11-17-2007, 08:02 AM
Beginner
 
grapico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharityAJO View Post

I didn't just ask "is it vegan?" I don't assume customer service reps know what that means.



I asked if specific amino acids were synthetic or animal derived. And I'm still waiting on the answer.



pretty much all commercial amino acids are synthetic plant derived made in a lab... in energy drinks, and it sports stuff such as eaa's and bcaa's
grapico is offline  
#23 Old 11-01-2009, 06:52 PM
Beginner
 
Doogle300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharityAJO View Post

Congratulations. You're better than us for maintaining a Sanctified Holy Body of Non-Artificial Wonder.



Even though this was posted years ago now, i had to join and give my kudos for this comment ^^



plus i do need to find out some facts about vegetarian foods so im killing two birds with one stone XD
Doogle300 is offline  
#24 Old 11-02-2009, 11:47 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,641
Night Of The Living Thread.



This thread won't die.
sleepydvdr is offline  
#25 Old 11-02-2009, 03:00 PM
Beginner
 
dwnielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 365
Weird that it's here. I just saw some guys in a white pickup throw about a dozen such cans (could have been Amp, though) out of their window going about 30 mph over the speed limit, then almost wreck having not seen some tire tread in the road, then pull off between some cones. Rockstar.
dwnielsen is offline  
#26 Old 11-28-2009, 04:57 PM
Beginner
 
zaboof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
yea its vegan, rockstar, redbull and monster are all vegan
zaboof is offline  
#27 Old 11-29-2009, 11:14 AM
Riot Nrrrd
 
Dave in MPLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St Cloud MN
Posts: 2,473
But I only drink Full Throttle! Maybe the ones that taste good aren't vegan, just the carbonated cough syrups



No, they probably are, at least I hope they are ...

Dave in MPLS / DISCLAIMER: I am not an actual rooster.
my blog - Vintage Veg
"It is better to light a candle than to curse the darkness"

Dave in MPLS is online now  
#28 Old 11-29-2009, 12:01 PM
Beginner
 
Kibbleforlola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,483
I wouldn't buy rockstar, vegan or not. This is why:



http://www.progressivepuppy.com/the_...-in-a-can.html



I'll spend my money elsewhere, thanks.

Who needs sleep when we've got love?
Who needs keys when we've got clubs?
Who needs please when we've got guns?
Who needs peace when we've gone above?
Kibbleforlola is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off