VeggieBoards banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Opinions of “Partial Vegetarians”

8K views 66 replies 34 participants last post by  Tom 
#1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the site, but I was hoping you all could help me out. I'm a college student doing research this summer (also a vegetarian of about a year), and I'm looking into partial vegetarians / selective or "ethical" omnivores / those who cut back their meat consumption for one reason or another.

How do you all feel about this? Does someone who reduces their meat consumption for animal rights reasons deserve moral "credit"? How about if their reasons are environmental?

In the same vein, how do you feel about people who cut red meat out of their diets, but continue to eat poultry and fish? And are pescetarians vegetarians?

Thanks in advance for all of your help! I really value any insight you can offer.

#2 ·
First, Pescetarians are omnivores. They eat creatures that were once living and breathing. Vegetarians don't do that. I'm not sure why they think they should be included under the umbrella, but they aren't. Eating a dead animal is eating a dead animal. Deciding you are somehow morally superior b/c you decided that fish are lesser beings is totally bogus.

As far as people who cut back meat for moral reasons, I don't know how I feel. I want to say that anything is better than nothing. But, I also know that if it's immoral, it's immoral. Doing it less doesn't make it anymore immoral. It's a bit like having an affair. Is someone who only sleeps with their mistress 6 days a week somehow better than someone who sleeps with her 7? Is it any less cheating on your spouse b/c you do it less? I'm not sure about the environmental thing b/c for me it is 100% ethics. I appreciate the health benefits as well. It does skeeve me out a bit that people would be more concerned about the environment than the pain and suffering of animals.