Is Sorbet Vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 03-12-2004, 12:38 PM
Beginner
 
mer-girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 164
So I was just at Coldstone's last night, and I got raspberry sorbet with boysenberries mixed in- it was fantastic, but was it vegan? I thought that sorbet was only fruit juice, but now I am scared. Help!
mer-girl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 03-12-2004, 12:43 PM
Beginner
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
Yes, it's usually vegan.



"Sherbert" is the one that's never vegan. Sorbet is almost always vegan, but you might find some flavors that contain nonvegan ingredients.
kpickell is offline  
#3 Old 03-12-2004, 12:46 PM
Beginner
 
smedley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,326
i have seen several recipes for sorbet that call for cream--so check ingredients!!
smedley is offline  
#4 Old 03-12-2004, 12:48 PM
Banned
 
kirkjobsluder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,276
And so what if that particular brand did happen to have animal ingredients? Find out and avoid it in the future.
kirkjobsluder is offline  
#5 Old 03-12-2004, 03:20 PM
Beginner
 
Eva-bo-beva's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
It is traditionally, but some kinds may add a small amount of milk or even egg whites.
Eva-bo-beva is offline  
#6 Old 03-12-2004, 03:25 PM
Beginner
 
lijahbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 674
All sorbets I have seen have been vegan except Hagan Daas chocolate which had egg whites.Does anyone know if Ben and Jerrys still makes sorbet? I haven't seen any in a while.
lijahbaby is offline  
#7 Old 03-12-2004, 03:34 PM
Beginner
 
Rawmama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 37
Traditionally it's made with egg white but i've found most of the commercial ones down here are Vegan
Rawmama is offline  
#8 Old 03-12-2004, 04:20 PM
Beginner
 
MollyGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,159
The Whole Fruit coconut sorbet has milk and other dairy products in it. Isn't that stupid? In coconut sorbet! I had some assuming it was vegan (big mistake) and looked at the label like three months later...sure enough--milk.
MollyGoat is offline  
#9 Old 03-12-2004, 04:37 PM
Beginner
 
misq17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,982
Try visiting Coldstone's website or emailing them for the info.
misq17 is offline  
#10 Old 03-12-2004, 07:07 PM
Beginner
 
bethanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by MollyGoat View Post

The Whole Fruit coconut sorbet has milk and other dairy products in it. Isn't that stupid? In coconut sorbet! I had some assuming it was vegan (big mistake) and looked at the label like three months later...sure enough--milk.





Same here Mollygoat, I had the exact same thing last summer...the little sorbet thing in the halfshell. Found out after eating it that it had cream. I couldn't imagine why you would put cream in coconut sorbet. Isn't cocunut 'creamy' enough?



B
bethanie is offline  
#11 Old 03-12-2004, 07:08 PM
Beginner
 
bethanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,914
And for whoever asked, Ben and Jerry's does still make a sorbet...though to my knowledge it's only available in their stores. Generally here they carry two or three flavors.



B
bethanie is offline  
#12 Old 03-12-2004, 07:17 PM
Beginner
 
Walter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 7,866
The B&Js sorbets are impossible to find. They used to be all over the place! I was really annoyed when they were bought out by Unilever because they added honey to my favorite 2 flavors, and now I can't even find any!
Walter is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off